December 11, 2023
Africa Politics

The United States is set to remove Gabon, Niger, Uganda, and the Central African Republic from its trade program.

The United States will end the participation of Gabon, Niger, Uganda, and the Central African Republic in a trade program.

What is The African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA)

AGOA, the African Growth and Opportunity Act, is a U.S. trade initiative offering duty-free access to the American market for specific products from qualifying sub-Saharan African nations such as Gabon, Niger, Uganda, and the Central African Republic. Its primary goal is to stimulate economic growth and diversification in sub-Saharan Africa.

Biden cited “gross violations” of human rights in the Central African Republic and Uganda, and Niger and Gabon’s failure to promote political pluralism and the rule of law as reasons for the action.

“Despite intensive engagement between the United States and the Central African Republic, Gabon, Niger, and Uganda, these countries have failed to address United States concerns about their non-compliance with the AGOA eligibility criteria,” Biden said in a letter to the speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Biden plans to end these countries’ status as AGOA beneficiary nations from January 1, 2024, and will regularly review their eligibility for the program.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service